Tuesday, July 23, 2024
Google search engine
HomeNewsHouse to Discuss South-West's Future: 3 New States Proposal

House to Discuss South-West’s Future: 3 New States Proposal

#Zulum238Projects #Term2 Focus: Education (54 Projects) Zulum's 5th year in office, consolidating on sterling 4 years of the first tenure. “1,195 Projects and Counting.” Series on 238 projects in the first year of the second tenure of Governor Zulum.

A proposal for the establishment of three new states in the South-West has been scheduled for introduction in the House of Representatives.

Sponsored by the lawmaker representing Obokun/Oriade Federal Constituency, Osun State, Oluwole Oke.

Google search engine

The suggested legislation aims to establish separate states namely Oke-Ogun, Ijebu, and Ife-Ijesa.

The suggested legislation is named “A Bill for an Act to modify the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria 1999 (as revised)”.

The proposed idea is to make changes to the First Schedule, Part I of the Constitution. The suggested amendment involves adding new states and decreasing the number of local government areas.

According to the proposed bill, the region of Oke-Ogun State, with Iseyin as its capital city, would consist of a total of 12 local government areas, including Olorunsogo, Irepo, Oorerelope, Ogbomosho North, Ogbomosho South, Saki-East, Saki-West, Atisbo, Itesiwaju, Iwajowa, Kajola, and Iseyin.

See also  Borno District Heads Narrate Ordeals Of Boko Haram Survivors

Ijebu State, When formed, will consist of Ijebu East,  Ijebu North-East, Ijebu Ode, Ikenne, Odogbolu, Ogun Waterside, Remo Nort,h and Sagamu LGAs. The proposed capital city for Ijebu State is Ijebu Ode.

Ife Ijesa State is to be made of 11 LGAs made up of Atakunmosa East, Atakunmosa West, Boluwaduro, Ife Central, Ife East, Ife North, Ife South, Ilesa East, Ilesa West, Oboku and Oriade.

On February 6, 2024, in a letter directed to the Clerk of the House, Oke expressed: “I wish to forward the abovementioned bill to your office for further necessary legislative action to enable me to move same in our great Green Chamber, sir.”

The South-West region in Nigeria comprises six states, namely Ondo, Oyo, Lagos, Ogun, Osun, and Ekiti states.


About The Author



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular